For nearly 25 years, Jazz St. Louis has been the foremost presenter of jazz in St. Louis and throughout the region. We are dedicated to preserving the legacy of this musical genre. Hundreds of local and nationally renowned musicians, such as Wynton Marsalis, Diana Krall, Harry Connick, Jr. and Al Jarreau have graced our stage. Our state-of-the-art Ferring Jazz Bistro has earned praise from artists and patrons alike as one of the best listening rooms in the country. Year after year, Jazz St. Louis strives to be the leader in showcasing unique and diverse jazz performers and preserves the shared cultural heritage embodied in jazz music through our educational programs.


Jazz St. Louis was born in August 1995 when the late Barbara Rose (pictured) and Peter Bunce of Grand Center began a presenting jazz musicians of national and international fame in a small, intimate atmosphere. The new music series was called Jazz at the Bistro. Following her death in 1998, Gene Dobbs Bradford was chosen to lead the organization, and he began expanding the musical styles presented and began building the education and community programs that are now an integral part of the organization. In 2006, the name of the organization was changed from Jazz at the Bistro to Jazz St. Louis to better reflect our focus on performance, education and community engagement. In October 2014 following an $8 million capital campaign, the Bistro and the adjacent building were renovated as the Harold & Dorothy Steward Center for Jazz.


Gene Dobbs Bradford

President & CEO

[email protected]

Bob Bennett

Artistic Director / Director of Operations

[email protected]

Larry Gregory

Operations Manager

[email protected]

Andy Ament

Director of Education

[email protected]

Carlos Brown Jr.

Education Associate

[email protected]

Dan Sheffield

Chief Financial Officer

[email protected]


Stephanie L. Hemphill

Staff Accountant / Notary Public

[email protected]

Katy Robertson

Director of Development

[email protected]

Breanna Parker-Gills

Assistant Director of Development

[email protected]

Jamie Kussman

Development Associate

[email protected]

Adam Stefo

Box Office Manager

[email protected]


Jazz St. Louis is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to lead our community in advancing the uniquely American art of jazz through live performance, education and community engagement.

Stay In-Tune! Sign up for our newsletter to receive information on upcoming shows, promotions, and educational programs.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.