SFJAZZ Collective: Originals & The Music of Michael Jackson

SF Jazz Collective

Exclusively Sponsored by Garden-View-Care-Center_small

“The octet boasts as much or more collective talent, firepower and critical acclaim than any other jazz ensemble going…”DownBeat Magazine

Miguel Zenón – Alto Saxophone
David Sánchez – Tenor Saxophone
Avishai Cohen – Trumpet
Robin Eubanks – Trombone
Warren Wolf – Vibraphone, Marimba
Edward Simon – Piano
Matt Penman – Bass 
Obed Calvaire – Drums

SFJAZZ’s resident all-star ensemble presents new arrangements of music by Michael Jackson like “Thriller,” “P.Y.T.,” “Man in the Mirror,” and more, as well as new compositions by the band. Much like the approach they took with Stevie Wonder’s material a few years ago, the Collective brings the same probing intelligence, incisive lyricism, harmonic insight and rhythmic energy to well-crafted pop tunes as to material conceived for jazz settings.

The SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star award-winning jazz ensemble comprising eight of the finest performers/composers at work in jazz today. Launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ, the Collective has become one of the most exciting and acclaimed groups on the jazz scene. In addition to its outstanding line-up, the SFJAZZ Collective has been praised for its innovative approach to repertoire. Each year, the ensemble highlights the music of a different modern music master, writing and performing new arrangements of their compositions or hits. Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring jazz’s recent history while championing the music’s up-to-the-minute directions, the Collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form.SFJAZZCollective_Black_Logo

style: modern jazz

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *


Go back to main content

Go back to main navigation